The Boys Next Door Show Logo

The place is a communal residence in a New England city, where four mentally handicapped men live under the supervision of an earnest, but increasingly "burned out" young social worker named Jack. Norman, who works in a doughnut shop and is unable to resist the lure of the sweet pastries, takes great pride in the huge bundle of keys that dangles from his waist; Lucien P. Smith has the mind of a five-year-old but imagines that he is able to read and comprehend the weighty books he lugs about; Arnold, the ringleader of the group, is a hyperactive, compulsive chatterer, who suffers from deep-seated insecurities and a persecution complex; while Barry, a brilliant schizophrenic who is devastated by the unfeeling rejection of his brutal father, fantasizes that he is a golf pro. Mingled with scenes from the daily lives of these four, where "little things" sometimes become momentous (and often very funny), are moments of great poignancy when, with touching effectiveness, we are reminded that the handicapped, like the rest of us, want only to love and laugh and find some meaning and purpose in the brief time that they, like their more fortunate brothers, are allotted on this earth.


by Tom Griffin

Producer: Tim Yard
Director: Kevin Harrington

Show Dates
February 13, 14, 20, 21, 2015
Curtain Time 8:00 P.M.

February 15, 2015
Curtain Time 3:00 P.M.


Arnold Wiggins - Paul Soska
Lucien P. Smith - Michael Rywalski
Jack - Patrick Boyer
Norman Bulansky - Glen Ackerman
Barry Klemper - Christian Siebenaler
Mr. Hedges - Reed K. Steele
Mrs. Fremus - Lori Bee
Mrs. Warren - Tammy Halay
Sheila - Amy Carpenter
Clara - Lori Bee
Mr. Corbin - Reed K Steele
Mr. Klemper - Jeff Smith
Senator Clarke - Jeff Smith
Production Team
Stage Manager - Lisa Gordon
Set Design - Kevin Harrington
Tim Yard
Stage Crew - Max Cuprys
Alice Dargartz
Mike Gordon
Noah Hagedorn
Costumers - Diane Hess
Lois Sommers
Lighting Design - Marty Limmer
Lighting - Marty Limmer
Sound Design - Keith Klewer
Sound - Jen Bonnice
Ruthie Bonnice
Keith Klewer
Make-Up - Marlene Guy
Set Construction - Glen Ackerman
Lori Bee
Amy Carpenter
Don Dauer
Lucy Hagedorn
Noah Hagedorn
Donna Hall
Mike Hall
Kevin Harrington
Renee Harrington
Nancy Ice
Keith Klewer
Reed K. Steele
Dawn Yard
Tim Yard
Props - Dawn Yard
Tickets - Brenda Holdren
Concessions - Marcia Hayes
Program Editor - Tim Yard
Publicity - Nancy Ice
First Nighter Appreciation - Dianne Davis
Photographer - Tonia Halay